Last wicket
10th Sep 2018 - 10AM Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, Leicester
Specsavers County Championship Division Two 2018
{{ }}, {{ }}°C
& {{ inning }} ({{ current_innings.total_overs }})
{{ statuses[scorecard.match_overview.status_id] }} Day {{ scorecard.match_overview.match_day }} One day
& {{ inning }} ({{ current_innings.total_overs }})
{{ scorecard.match_overview.result }}
{{ getBattingTeam() }} Batting Runs Mins Balls 4s 6s SR
{{ getBatterName( }}
{{ getBatterName( }}
{{ batter.runs_scored }} {{ batter.minutes }} {{ batter.balls_faced }} {{ batter.fours_scored }} {{ batter.sixes_scored }} {{ getStrikeRate(batter.runs_scored, batter.balls_faced) }} {{ batter.how_out }}
{{ getBowlingTeam() }} Bowling Overs Maidens Runs Wickets Econ
{{ getBowlerName( }}
{{ getBowlerName( }}
{{ bowler.overs_bowled }}.{{ bowler.balls_bowled }} {{ bowler.maidens_bowled }} {{ bowler.runs_conceded }} {{ bowler.wickets_taken }} {{ getEconomy(bowler.runs_conceded, bowler.overs_bowled) }}
ECB Reporters Network
2nd April 2018

Opposition Overview: Leicestershire vs Warwickshire – Specsavers County Championship 2018

Leicestershire Overview

Specsavers County Championship - Division Two: ninth.

Royal London One-Day Cup - North Group. 2017: sixth.

Vitality Blast - North Group. 2017 - fourth. Quarter-final: lost to Glamorgan in Cardiff.

Captain: Michael Carberry.

Head Coach: Paul Nixon.

Overseas players: Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nabi, Cameron Delport, Varun Aaron.

Ins and outs: In: Tom Taylor (Derbyshire), Ateeq Javid (Warwickshire). Out: Clint McKay (overseas)

Man on a Mission

Michael Carberry. Just 59 runs in eight innings since moving from Hampshire towards the end of last season means the 37-year-old Carberry has plenty to prove to Leicestershire supporters, the more so after it was confirmed he would replace the side's only consistent and reliable run-scorer, Mark Cosgrove, as captain this season. The popular Londoner will have more bowling firepower at his disposal than the unfortunate Cosgrove, however, and if he can maintain his first-class average of 41, could help new coach Paul Nixon inspire a new era of success for the Foxes - the early signs in pre-season have been encouraging.

One to watch

Callum Parkinson. One of the country's brightest spinning talents, the smiling, sparky 21-year-old left-armer turns the ball on the most unpromising surfaces, and is developing the flight and guile to tempt batsmen into mistakes when conditions are not in his favour. His 8-148 at Worcestershire last season, when he out-bowled Ravi Ashwin, was Leicestershire's best individual bowling return since 2001, and the county aim to produce slightly drier wickets at the Fischer County Ground this season, to ensure Parkinson is a real threat as matches develop.

Local hero

Zak Chappell. After a year in which injury kept him off the field for long periods, Chappell has benefited from a winter working with new Leicestershire bowling coach Matt Mason, both with the ECB Pace Programme and at the Fischer County Ground. Stronger and fitter, the 21-year-old from Stamford (where he was coached by former England fast bowler Dean Headley) looks capable of fulfilling the predictions of those who believe him to be an all-round talent with the potential to be the next Stuart Broad.

Prospects for 2018:

NEW head coach Paul Nixon's asking Leicestershire supporters to be realistic about the team's prospects for the season ahead may have occasioned a wry smile among the Foxes faithful. When a county has finished bottom of the Championship in four of the last five seasons, and failed to win a single four day game last year, it is fair to say the most optimistic is not expecting them to run away with Division Two.

There will be disappointment, however, if there is not considerable improvement in both performances and results. The overseas signings of Pakistan international seamer Mohammad Abbas and more recently India’s Varun Aaron to replace Sohail Khan should go a long way towards addressing last season's biggest problem, the failure to take 20 wickets in a match, as should the return to full fitness of seamers Zak Chappell, Ben Raine, Gavin Griffiths and Neil Dexter, all of whom were either unavailable or not fully fit throughout much of 2017.

The talent of left-arm spinner Callum Parkinson, who picked up 17 wickets in just seven innings towards the end of last season, is another reason to be cheerful, as is a batting order packed with run-gathering experience. Michael Carberry, Paul Horton, Mark Cosgrove, Colin Ackermann, Dexter and Ned Eckersley are all proven thousand runs a season men, and will need to produce under pressure from youngsters Aadil Ali, Harry Dearden and Sam Evans.

The Foxes should also be a threat in white ball cricket, especially with Nixon's guidance: Afghan star Mohammad Nabi and hard-hitting South African Cameron Delport add to the firepower which saw them reach the quarter-finals of last season's T20.

Become a Warwickshire Member

Follow the Bears in 2018 with a Warwickshire membership. Our Full Club membership is priced at just £240 (adult), £215 (over 60) or £65 (student/under21) for all 39 days of domestic cricket in all three formats of the game.

Learn More

Live scorecard

The match live scorecard will appear here once the match is in play.

{{(inning.batting_team_id === ? :}} Batting Runs Mins Balls 4s 6s SR
{{ getPlayerName(, inning, inning.batting_team_id) }}
{{ getPlayerName(, inning, inning.batting_team_id) }}
{{ getHowOut(batter.how_out) }} {{ batter.runs_scored }} {{ batter.minutes }} {{ batter.balls_faced }} {{ batter.fours_scored }} {{ batter.sixes_scored }} {{ getStrikeRate(batter.runs_scored, batter.balls_faced) }}
{{(inning.bowling_team_id === ? :}} Bowling Overs Maidens Runs Wickets Econ
{{ getPlayerName(, inning, inning.bowling_team_id) }}
{{ getPlayerName(, inning, inning.bowling_team_id) }}
{{ bowler.overs_bowled }}.{{ bowler.balls_bowled }} {{ bowler.maidens_bowled }} {{ bowler.runs_conceded }} {{ bowler.wickets_taken }} {{ getEconomy(bowler.runs_conceded, bowler.overs_bowled) }}

Leicestershire Squad

  • Neil Dexter

  • Paul Horton

  • Mark Pettini

  • Richard Jones

  • Dieter Klein

  • Colin Ackermann

  • Harry Dearden

  • Cameron Delport

  • Gavin Griffiths

  • Callum Parkinson

  • Mohammad Abbas

  • Michael Carberry

  • Sam Evans

  • Ateeq Javid

  • Sohail Khan

  • Luke Ronchi

  • Harry Swindells

  • Tom Taylor

  • Edmund Eckersley

  • Thomas Wells

  • Benjamin Raine

  • Robert Sayer

  • Aadil Ali

  • Lewis Hill

  • Zachariah Chappell

  • Mark Cosgrove